Cal Poly Global Site Tag

Google Tag Manager


2018-19 Academic Calendar

Revision Approved July 24, 2017

 

SUMMER TERM 2018
June 25 Monday Beginning of university year
Beginning of summer term - classes begin
July 4 Wednesday Academic holiday - Independence Day Observed
July 9 Monday End of second week of instruction
July 16 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
August 13 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
August 31 Friday Last day of classes for 10-week session
September 3 Monday Academic Holiday-Labor Day
September 4 - 6 Tuesday-Thursday Final examination period for 10-week session
September 6 Thursday End of summer term
September 7 - 12 Friday-Sunday Academic holiday

 

FALL TERM 2018
September 13 Thursday Beginning of fall term (faculty only)
September 20 Thursday Fall term classes begin
October 3 Wednesday End of second week of instruction
October 10 Wednesday End of third week of instruction - Census date
November 7 Wednesday End of seventh week of instruction
November 12 Monday Academic holiday - Veterans Day Observed

November 19 - 25

Monday-Sunday Academic holiday - Thanksgiving
December 7 Friday Last day of classes
December 8 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
December 10 - 14 Monday-Friday Final examination period
December 15 Saturday Mid-Year Commencement, End of fall term

December 16 - January 6

Sunday-Sunday Academic holiday

 

WINTER TERM 2019
January 7 Monday Beginning of winter term - classes begin
January 18 Friday End of second week of instruction
January 21 Monday Academic holiday - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday observed
January 28 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
February 18 Monday Academic holiday -  Washington's Birthday observed
February 19 Tuesday Classes follow a Monday schedule
February 26 Tuesday End of seventh week of instruction
March 15 Friday Last day of classes
March 16 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
March 18 - 22 Monday-Friday Final examination period
March 25 Monday Evaluation Day (faculty workday; no classes), End of winter term
March 26 - April 1 Tuesday-Monday Academic holiday

 

SPRING TERM 2019
April 2 Tuesday Beginning of spring term - classes begin
April 15 Monday End of second week of instruction
April 22 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
May 20 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
May 27 Monday Academic holiday - Memorial Day observed
May 28 Tuesday Classes follow a Monday Schedule
June 7 Friday Last day of classes
June 8 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
June 10 - 14 Monday-Friday Final examination period
June 15 - 16 Saturday-Sunday Commencement
End of spring term
End of university year (faculty only)
SUMMARY OF CALENDAR DAYS
Academic Year (fws)
  Summer 2018 Fall 2018 Winter 2019 Spring 2019
Beginning Year/Term -- 5 -- --
MWF Days 29 30 29 29
TR Days 20 21 19 19
Total Qtr Instructional Days 49 51 48 48
Exams -- 5 5 5
Commencement -- 1 -- 1
Evaluation Day -- -- 1 --
Total Qtr Academic Work Days 49 62 54 54
  • Total Academic Year Instructional Days (F-W-Sp) = 147
  • Total Academic Year Work Days (F-W-Sp) = 170

Related Content