Cal Poly Global Site Tag

Google Tag Manager


2021-2022 Academic Calendar

Approved February 25, 2020


SUMMER TERM 2021
June 21 Monday Beginning of university year
Beginning of summer term - classes begin
July 2 Friday End of second week of instruction
July 5 Monday Academic holiday - Independence Day
July 12 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
August 9 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
August 27 Friday Last day of classes for 10-week session
August 30 - September 3 Monday-Friday Final examination period for 10-week session
September 3 Friday End of summer term
September 4 - 7 Saturday-Tuesday Academic holiday

 

FALL TERM 2021
September 8 Wednesday Beginning of fall term (faculty only)
September 15 Wednesday Fall term classes begin
September 28 Tuesday End of second week of instruction
October 5 Tuesday End of third week of instruction - Census date
November 2 Tuesday End of seventh week of instruction
November 11 Thursday Academic holiday - Veterans Day Observed

November 22 - 28

Monday-Sunday Academic holiday - Thanksgiving
December 3 Friday Last day of classes
December 4 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
December 6 - 10 Monday-Friday Final examination period
December 11 Saturday Mid-Year Commencement, End of fall term

December 12 - January 2

Sunday-Sunday Academic holiday

 

WINTER TERM 2022
January 3 Monday Beginning of winter term - classes begin
January 14 Friday End of second week of instruction
January 17 Monday Academic holiday - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday observed
January 18 Tuesday Classes follow a Monday schedule
January 24 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
February 18 Friday End of seventh week of instruction
February 21 Tuesday Academic holiday -  Washington's Birthday observed
March 11 Friday Last day of classes
March 12 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
March 14 - 18 Monday-Friday Final examination period
March 21 - 27 Monday-Sunday Academic holiday

 

SPRING TERM 2022
March 28 Monday Beginning of spring term - classes begin
March 31 Thursday Academic holiday - César Chavez's Birthday observed
April 11 Monday End of second week of instruction
April 18 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
May 16 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
May 30 Monday Academic holiday - Memorial Day observed
June 3 Friday Last day of classes
June 4 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
June 6 - 10 Monday-Friday Final examination period
June 11 - 12 Saturday-Sunday Commencement
End of spring term
End of university year (faculty only)
SUMMARY OF CALENDAR DAYS
Academic Year (fws)
  Summer 2021 Fall 2021 Winter 2022 Spring 2022
Beginning Year/Term -- 5 -- --
MWF Days 29 32 29 29
TR Days 20 20 19 19
Total Qtr Instructional Days 49 52 48 48
Final Exams TBD* 5 5 5
Commencement -- 1 -- 1
Total Qtr Academic Work Days 49* 63 53 54
  • Total Academic Year Instructional Days (F-W-Sp) = 148
  • Total Academic Year Work Days (F-W-Sp) = 170

*Final exam periods for summer term are determined by the number and length of sessions offered.

Related Content