Google Tag Manager

Cal Poly Global Site Tag


Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Approved - December 7, 2021


SUMMER TERM 2023
June 26 Monday Beginning of university year
Beginning of summer term - classes begin
July 4 Tuesday Academic holiday - Independence Day
July 10 Monday End of second week of instruction
July 17 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
August 14 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
September 1 Friday Last day of classes for 10-week session
September 4 Monday Academic holiday - Labor Day
September 5-7 Tuesday-Thursday Final examination period for 10-week session
September 7 Thursday End of summer term
September 8-13 Friday-Wednesday Academic holiday

 

FALL TERM 2023
September 14 Thursday Beginning of fall term (faculty only)
September 21 Thursday Fall term classes begin
October 4 Wednesday End of second week of instruction
October 11 Wednesday End of third week of instruction - Census date
November 8 Wednesday End of seventh week of instruction
November 10 Friday Academic holiday - Veterans Day observed

November 20 - 26

Monday - Sunday Academic holiday - Thanksgiving
December 8 Friday Last day of classes
December 9 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
December 11-15 Monday - Friday Final examination period
December 16 Saturday

Mid-Year Commencement

End of term

December 17-January 7

Sunday-Sunday

Academic holiday

 

WINTER TERM 2024
January 8 Monday Beginning of winter term - classes begin
January 15 Monday Academic holiday - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday observed
January 16 Tuesday Classes follow a Monday schedule
January 22 Monday End of second week of instruction 
January 29 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
February 19 Monday Academic holiday -  Washington's Birthday observed
February 27 Tuesday End of seventh week of instruction
March 15 Friday Last day of classes
March 16 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
March 18-22 Monday - Friday Final examination period
March 25 Monday

Evaluation Day (faculty workday, no classes)

End of term

March 26 - April 1 Tuesday - Monday Academic Holiday

 

SPRING TERM 2024
April 2 Tuesday Beginning of spring term - classes begin
April 15 Monday End of second week of instruction
April 22 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
May 20 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
May 27 Monday Academic holiday - Memorial Day observed
June 7 Friday Last day of classes
June 8 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
June 10-14 Monday - Friday Final examination period
June 15-16 Saturday - Sunday Commencement
June 16 Sunday

End of term

End of university year

SUMMARY OF CALENDAR DAYS
Academic Year (fws)
  Summer 2023 Fall 2023 Winter 2024 Spring 2024
Beginning Year/Term -- 5 -- --
MWF Days 30 30 29 29
TR Days 19 21 19 19
Total Qtr Instructional Days 49 51 48 48
Final Exams TBD* 5 5 5
Evaluation Day -- -- 1 --
Commencement -- 1 -- 1
Total Qtr Academic Work Days 49* 62 54 54
  • Total Academic Year Instructional Days (F-W-Sp) = 147
  • Total Academic Year Work Days (F-W-Sp) = 170

*Final exam periods for summer term are determined by the number and length of sessions offered.

Related Content