Google Tag Manager

Cal Poly Global Site Tag


Academic Calendar 2024-2025

Approved - December 20, 2022


SUMMER TERM 2024
June 24 Monday Beginning of university year
Beginning of summer term - classes begin
July 4 Thursday Academic holiday - Independence Day
July 8 Monday End of second week of instruction
July 15 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
August 12 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
August 30 Friday Last day of classes for 10-week session
September 2 Monday Academic holiday - Labor Day
September 3-6 Tuesday-Friday Final examination period for 10-week session
September 6 Friday End of summer term
September 7-15 Saturday-Sunday Academic holiday

 

FALL TERM 2024
September 16 Monday Beginning of fall term (faculty only)
September 23 Monday Fall term classes begin
October 4 Friday End of second week of instruction
October 11 Friday End of third week of instruction - Census date
October-November Ongoing Early voting sites are open (date, time, and locations for early voting and conditional voter registration may be confirmed on the Secretary of State website or the local county elections office.)
October 21 Monday Deadline to register to vote
November 5 Tuesday Election Day
November 8 Friday End of seventh week of instruction
November 11 Monday Academic holiday - Veterans Day observed

November 25 - December 1

Monday - Sunday Academic holiday - Fall Break
December 6 Friday Last day of classes
December 7 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
December 9-13 Monday - Friday Final examination period
December 14 Saturday Faculty workday, no classes
December 16 Monday

Faculty workday, no classes

End of term

December 17-January 5

Tuesday-Sunday

Academic holiday

 

WINTER TERM 2025
January 6 Monday Beginning of winter term - classes begin
January 17 Friday End of second week of instruction
January 20 Monday Academic holiday - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday observed
January 21 Tuesday Classes follow a Monday Schedule
January 27 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
February 17 Monday Academic holiday -  Washington's Birthday observed
February 24 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
March 14 Friday Last day of classes
March 15 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
March 17-21 Monday - Friday Final examination period
March 24 Monday

Faculty workday, no classes

End of term

March 25-31 Tuesday - Monday Academic Holiday

 

SPRING TERM 2025
April 1 Tuesday Beginning of spring term - classes begin
April 14 Monday End of second week of instruction
April 21 Monday End of third week of instruction - Census date
May 19 Monday End of seventh week of instruction
May 26 Monday Academic holiday - Memorial Day observed
May 27 Tuesday Classes follow a Monday Schedule
June 6 Friday Last day of classes
June 7 Saturday Common final exams (optional)
June 9-13 Monday - Friday Final examination period
June 14-15 Saturday - Sunday Commencement
June 16 Monday

Faculty workday, no classes

End of term

End of university year

SUMMARY OF CALENDAR DAYS
Academic Year (fws)
  Summer 2024 Fall 2024 Winter 2025 Spring 2025
Beginning Year/Term -- 5 -- --
MWF Days 30 29 29 29
TR Days 19 20 19 19
Total Qtr Instructional Days 49 49 48 48
Final Exams TBD* 5 5 5
Faculty workday -- 2 1 1
Commencement -- -- -- 1
Total Qtr Academic Work Days 49* 61 54 55
  • Total Academic Year Instructional Days (F-W-Sp) = 145
  • Total Academic Year Work Days (F-W-Sp) = 170

*Final exam periods for summer term are determined by the number and length of sessions offered.

Related Content